DUI

/DUI
DUI2018-09-04T18:21:07+00:00

Florida DUI Programs

Sunshine Safety Council (SSC) offers 2 DUI School courses. 

Our DUI Programs are Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) approved and meet/exceed the state of Florida certification requirements for DUI Program staffing and operations (Administrative Rules Chapter 15A 10). Additionally, the Council has been serving Flagler, Putnam, and Volusia Counties as a DUI Program Provider since 1973.

Of course our Instructors, Certified Level I and Level II DUI Instructors, meet DHSMV requirements. The Driver’s Risk Assessment portion, conducted by Certified Evaluators also meets DHSMV requirements. Furthermore, each student receives a certificate of DUI Program completion successful completion of both the education and evaluation components of the DUI Course.

SSC’s DUI Program issues completion reports to the DHSMV as well. Reports of successful completion of DUI school are electronically submitted the day after the final service. Each student that successfully completes the evaluation and applicable level of DUI Class (Level I or Level II,) will receive a completion certificate. In addition, the student can provide the certificate to the courts or probation office as necessary. Conversely, unsuccessful completions are reported 90 days after enrollment, per FS 322.291. With proper documentation, SSC will by all means respond to direct inquiries from the courts or probation.

Certificates of completion will include information regarding possible treatment referral requirements. Completions of substance abuse treatment (if applicable) as well as failure to complete statuses are sent directly to the DHSMV. Only approved treatment providers can offer completion certificates to students who require such documentation to comply with a treatment referral.

Because the Courts and DHSMV requested programs to assist in lowering repeat DUI’s, the Council stepped up and began offering Special Supervision Services and Ignition Interlock Programs as well.

The Victim Awareness Program (VAP), designed to assist DUI offenders in seeing their offense from the perspective of those who have lost a loved one or been injured themselves may also needed.

In-Person DUI Registration can only be done during regular business hours

Monday – Friday 

8:30 to 2:30

First Time Offender Driving Under the Influence

Level 1 DUI with Online Pre Registration – $293 In Office Registration – $286

(Mastercard / Visa/ Discover accepted with online registrations)

Florida Statute (F.S.) 316.193(5) & Florida Administrative Rule 15a.10- Licensure under Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles. Approved 12 hour course of evaluation and instruction to satisfy statutory requirements for first offense of DUI, DUBAL, Refusal, DUI ammended to Reckless,Boating under the Influence (if court required), and/or related arrests/convictions requiring course attendance in an alcohol/substance abuse education program.

  • DUI
  • DUBAL
  • Refusal
  • DUI amended to Reckless
  • Boating under the influence
  • Arrests/convictions requiring Department and/or court attendance in an alcohol/substance abuse education program
  • Persons who have not already completed a level one DUI program

To register for DUI-1 class the following information must be presented at registration:

  • Drivers license number
  • Photo I.D. card
  • Citation number
  • Complete arrest report (This can be obtained from the Clerk of Court Traffic Department in the county you were arrested. If this document is not available, we must have written documentation from the Clerk of Court on their letterhead.)
  • Court orders (if applicable)
  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test results or Refusal affidavit
  • Name of probation officer (if applicable)
  • If you had a license in a prior state you will need to obtain a certified lifetime driving history from that state(s)

Enrollees must register in the county where they live, work or attend school, unless an exception is granted by the Approved Provider in the applicable county. Counties serviced by SSC include Volusia, Flagler, and Putnam ONLY. Office Hours & Locations

*Note: Due to confidentiality and quiet setting requirements, children or unapproved observers are not allowed during appointments.

Register Online

Or for further DUI registration information please contact Sunshine Safety Council at 386.253.6400.

Multiple Offender Driving Under the Influence

Level 2 DUI with Online Pre Registration – $438 In Office Registration – $431

(Mastercard / Visa / Discover accepted for online registration)

Florida Statute (F.S) 316.193(5) & Florida Administrative Rule 15a.10- Licensure under Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicle. Approved 21 hour course of evaluation and instruction. Required course of attendance for person with second or subsequent lifetime convictions of the following:

  • DUI
  • DUBAL
  • Refusal
  • DUI ammended to Reckless
  • Boating under the influence
  • Two or more convictions of an offence requiring Department and/or court attendance in an alcohol/substance abuse education program
  • Persons who have already completed a level one DUI program

To register for DUI-2 class the following information must be presented at registration:

  • Drivers license number
  • Photo I.D. card
  • Citation number
  • Complete arrest report (This can be obtained from the Clerk of Court Traffic Department in the county you were arrested. If this document is not available, we must have written documentation from the Clerk of Court on their letterhead.)
  • Court orders (if applicable)
  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test results or Refusal affidavit
  • Name of probation officer (if applicable)
  • If you had a license in a prior state you will need to obtain a certified lifetime driving history from that state(s)

You must attend DUI School in the County in which you live, work, or go to school. Sunshine Safety Council serves Volusia, Flagler, and Putnam Counties ONLY.  Office Hours & Locations

*Note: Due to confidentiality and quiet setting requirements, children or unapproved observers are not allowed during appointments.

Register Online

Or for further DUI registration information please contact Sunshine Safety Council at 386.253.6400.

Special Supervision Services


Purpose: To give DUI offenders with revocations on their licenses the opportunity to receive a restricted license. Entry into the Program is an application process.

Cost: The initial cost of application is $310. If accepted into the Special Supervision Program, monthly visits are required at a cost of $65 per visit. Additional fees for record checks and chemical testing apply. Additional fees are required by Ignition Interlock Device vendors.

Qualifications: Prospective applicants must have had a Hearing at the Bureau of Administrative Review and received a letter giving them permission to apply to the SSS Program. The client has thirty days from date of hearing letter to contact Sunshine Safety Council to begin the application. Applicants must have at least one full year of sobriety to be accepted and applicant must agree to a strict program of sobriety to remain in the SSS Program. Applicants must also have not driven for at least one year prior to their application. Clients in the SSS Program are subject to random urinalysis and blood tests at the client’s expense.

To Apply: Applicants must provide the following at the intake:

  • Picture ID
  • Hearing Letter
  • DUI Level 2 Class Certificate
  • Name, Address and Phone Number of the following:
  • Three (3) references who have known you for at least one year and can attest to your one year of sobriety and non-driving
  • Any treatment agency where you’ve received counseling for alcohol/drug use.
  • Any medical providers seen in the past 5 years
Statutory Eligibility Requirements:
Eligibility Requirement 5 Year Revocation 10 Year Revocation Permanent Revocation
No License 12 mos. minimum 24 mos. minimum 5 yrs. minimum
No Driving 12 mos. minimum 12 mos. minimum 5 yrs. minimum
Abstinence 12 mos. minimum 12 mos. minimum 5 yrs. minimum
  • “No License” is the revocation time period applicants must serve before they become eligible for application to the Program.
  • “No Driving” means a confirmed period of no driving without a driver license.
  • “Abstinence” means total abstinence from all alcoholic beverages (including non–alcoholic beer), no abuse of prescription or over–the–counter medications and no illicit drug use.
  • Completion of DUI Program (including required treatment)

DHSMV requires an Ignition Interlock Device be installed in your vehicle. The interlock device is required prior to the Hardship Driver’s License being issued. Fees required by the Interlock vendor are in addition to the fees required by the Supervision Program.

*Note: Due to confidentiality and quiet setting requirements, children or unapproved observers are not allowed during appointments.

You must apply with an SSS Program in the County in which you live, work, or go to school. Sunshine Safety Council serves Volusia, Flagler, and Putnam Counties ONLY.  Office Hours & Locations
For further information, please call the Sunshine Safety Council at 386.253.6400

Ignition Interlock Device

Requirements:

Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, states that ignition interlock devices must be installed on the vehicle of certain persons convicted of DUI. The driver must blow into the device before they can start their vehicle. If the driver blows above a certain breath alcohol threshold the vehicle will not start. This lock out will result in a violation.

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will send a violation letter to the driver. Within 20 days of receipt of the letter, the offender must contact Sunshine Safety Council to schedule an appointment. The DUI Program Provider (SSC) shall notify the DHSMV immediately when the convicted person contacts the DUI program, and schedules an appointment.

Appointment Requirements:

  • First Violation – A One-Time 1/2 Hour Appointment
  • Second Violation – A One-Time 1 Hour Appointment Followed by Monthly 1/2 Hr Appointments Until the IID is Removed
  • Third Violation – A One-Time 1 Hour Appointment and A Referral to A Substance Abuse Treatment Provider. And Monthly 1/2 Hr Appointments Until the IID is Removed

Ignition Interlock Device Fees:

  • First IID Violation Appointment Fee = $25.00
  • Second IID Violation Case Management Appointment Fee = $55.00
  • Third IID Violation Treatment Plan + DRI Appointment Fee = $60.00
  • Second IID Violation Case Management Missed Appointment Fee = $55.00
  • Third IID Violation Treatment Plan Missed Appointment Fee = $55.00
  • IID Monthly Appointment Fee = $45.00
  • IID Monthly Missed Appointment Fee = $25.00

Failure to comply with Interlock supervision requirements will result in the cancellation of the person’s drivers license in which case, the Interlock time requirement will start over.

You must schedule with a DUI Program in the County in which you live, work, or go to school. Sunshine Safety Council serves Volusia, Flagler, and Putnam Counties ONLY.  Office Hours & Locations

IID Vendors:    Smart Start        Guardian        Alcolock

Appointments are scheduled by calling the Sunshine Safety Council at 386.253.6400. Fees are due at the time of scheduling.

DUI Program Registration Hours:

Due to the amount of paperwork you must arrive two (2) hours prior to the close of business.

See Office Hours for each location.

Sunshine Safety Council Approved Treatment Providers